Today was a somewhat strange day. I got up early so I could print out my exam and send off my plans, which I did without a hitch. During class (William Morris class) we ended up talking about carbon footprints, and I managed to bring Uglies, by Scott Westerfeld, into the conversation. Then after class, I stayed at the PMC for a couple hours to do some more research. Great thing is I think I'm all set on that front. Sweet.
Then I went back to the Globe (for the fifth time) to buy tickets for Thursday's performance of Troilus and Cresida. I then bought lots of souveniers in the shop. As I was walking back towards St. Paul's, there was a fire alarm in a nearby building, Old Mutual or something like that, and all these people in suits were pouring out.
I walked all the way up to the Museum of London, which despite Matt's poor opinion of it, I actually kind of liked. It was the history of the city of London since before London was here. So, the really ancient London, Rome's Londonium, Medieval London, and 16th and 17th century London. I kind of really liked it. They also had a special exhibit all about the great fire of London in 1666 that was really cool. At the shop, I found this book that has all these cockney rhymes. For example, drink (as in alcohol) is "Tidlywink", mad is "mum and dad", and wife is "trouble and strife". It's so fun.
Then I wandered along the London Wall until I hit a tube station. It was one of the circle line stations, and I decided just to stay on the train past my stop until it came around to it again (being the circle line, that was possible). I suspect that the circle line goes around the City of London. In any case, most of the stations it stops at are old, cool looking stations. A lot of it is also not actually underground. When I go on, there was this hot British guy who also got on. He reminded me forcibly of Draco Malfoy, and I was really wishing I had a picture phone with me so I could descretely take a photo. He got off at Baker Street. One funny thing was that one of the destinations mentioned near Kings Cross was the "Royal National Institute for Blind People." Really? One of the stations I went through was Paddington. :) It was wierd though, because after about Baker Street the tube was fairly empty. I started to get really sleepy since I'd only got a little more than three hours of sleep, so I started snoozing. After Victoria and Westminster though, the tube started to get really full, and by the time we got to Kings Cross St. Pancras where I and just about everyone else got off, we were packed in like sardines.
I then proceded to pass out for three hours. I got up though cause I was hungry. Eve had a study break in her room a little while ago. She bought biscuits, frosting, and sprinkles, so we decorated cookies. It was so delightful! Anyways, I'm now going to try and go to bed soon since I still am way behind on sleep. Don't want to be sleepy tomorrow at the Tate Modern and the Globe!
18.8.09
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment